Bucket List; The Low Histamine Bake

Ever since I learned I can not eat the things I love I have been trying to come up with different recipes. I want to enjoy food. Not just eat to survive. I love beets and a lot of my recipes will have beets in them.

I want to share my cooking and baking with the world. I was blessed with a gift. My mother cooks by literally throwing things together. I am blessed and grateful I got her gift of cooking and baking. Thank you mom. Without you I would be so bold in the kitchen.

Please note the recipes I will be sharing are ones that have worked for me. Take what you like and scarp the rest. Living with disease is frustrating enough and then having a extremely limited diet can bite the big one. Diseases will not stop me from enjoying food. Everyone with mast cell diseases reacts to differently to different foods. Some of the foods we react to can be the same other are vastly different.

This is my beet cake/muffin bake recipe. A must for this recipie is truly loving the taste of beets!

Sweet Beety 
2 large raw beets ground up into paste
1/2 cup ground into paste raw zucchini
1/2 cup ground into paste raw mango
1/2 cup mango juice
2 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 cup maple syrup
1 1/2 cup raw sugar
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder (without aluminum)
3 eggs
3 cups of flour (Depending on which flour you use the cake will taste differently, for gluten free use rice flour, or coconut flour)

Mix dry ingredients together and set aside. Beat eggs with sugar and oil. Add syrup, beats, zucchini and juice. Add dry ingredients.

Preheat oven to 375.

Oil and flour your 9″ x 9″ pan and a 12 tin muffin pan. Cook for 40 minutes. Check to make sure it’s done with a tooth pick. If the tooth pick comes out clean it is done.

Let cool for 10 minutes before removing from the pan.

For extra sweetness drizzle a little maple over the top.

Leave a Reply

