Bucket List; Low Histamine Cook

image

Low Histamine Chunky Chicken Soup

4 cups of water

half a head of cauliflower chopped into chunks

1 large zucchini (or two smaller ones) cut into rings

2 sticks from a celery stock chopped

1/4 red onion

garlic (optional 3 cloves)

2 teaspoon dried organic basil

1 bay leaf

pinch of salt

I generally use the above recipe for all my soup and stew bases. Not being able to eat premade stock is a challenge, but it really helped me think outside of the box!

Mince onion and garlic. Chop the cauliflower, zucchini, and celery (depending on the size you like your veggies. Keeping in mind larger pieces of vegetables will take longer to cook) Add all ingredients to a large pot, add water, basil and bay leaf. Bring to a boil, turn down and let simmer until vegetables are tender.

I use local chicken that is steroid and antibiotic free.

2 chicken breast cut into cubes

1 tablespoon oil (I use extra virgin olive oil as it’s the only oil I do not react to)

Cook chicken in a frying pan on medium heat until fully cooked. Depending on your oven this can take 15-30 minutes on the stove top. Keep the vegetables simmering until the meat is done.

Once the chicken is fully cooked I strain off all the fat and then add my meat to the soup.

I do not salt my meat or my soup until tasted. I am on a high salt diet so the amount of salt I use is rather high  I leave room for others to enjoy my cookin by not salting the meals I make. I only use salt from the health food store as I don’t reat to it. Table salt bothers me a lot, as I am sure it does for others.

Once the chicken is cooked add it to the simmering vegetables. Simmer on low for 5-10 minutes.

Serve and enjoy. Put left overs in the freezer as soon as possible to stop the rise of histamine.

Thanks for stopping by!

 

Leave a Reply

