The Bucket List Project; The Smash Cake

At the start of 2016 I decided to do my best to do the simple things in life that I wanted to do before my time was up. I created a modified bucket list for someone in my situation.

Many things on my list seem simple and trivial to those whom have all their health in tacked. For me simple things use up much of my energy supply.

Doing something simple like smashing a cake takes great deal of energy for me. Now this was something on my list.

I turned thirty in late 2015 and was unable to have a cake. Cake makes me sick, literally. Preservatives make me feel extremely ill so cake was off the table.

In 2016 I decided I would do a smash cake! On July 4th 2016 I did just that.

Bucket List checkmark please! I got to do a smash cake! Now why did I smash the cake. Well I can’t eat it. So I smashed it and I let my inner child come out to play.

Due to over active Mast Cells in my body I hive, rash and have various other not so fun reactions from eating cake. I figured I wouldn’t have a contact allergy to the cake. So I gave it go!

I had a blast and forever grateful that Donnie got me a cake to smash and let me make a huge mess.

My allergic down fall was in the massive smashing of the cake getting on my face. I gently placed my face slightly above the cake on the floor (to get the last photo), I am so proud of myself because I didn’t ingest any cake.

I learned that I can have a contact reaction from the cake. I got my reaction under control by dosing with my antihistamines. Thank God for antihistamines.

I’m thankful I didn’t have a full blown allergic reaction. The tightness of my throat subsided. Grateful for memories and my Bucket List.

Cake smashing is a simple thing for most, this was a challenge and an amazing experience. I am so happy I did. I have wanted to smash cake a long while now. Making a mess is much fun!

image

 

Leave a Reply

