Interview With Sheri

This is Sheri’s story living with fibromyalgia and Raynaud’s phenomenon. This is her story in her words please be respectful.

Fibromyalgia explained http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/fibromyalgia/basics/definition/con-20019243

Raynaud’s Phenomenon explained http://www.medicinenet.com/raynauds_phenomenon/article.htm

img_3725

What is your name, age, and disease/invisible illness/mental health?

My name is Sheri. I am a single mom. I am 40 years old. I have fibromyalgia, Raynaud’s Phenomenon.

When did life change for you?

August 24, 2011, November 4, 2011 and January 20, 2016.

What was life like before diagnosis?

I was extremely active.

How has your diagnosis changed your life?

I live in constant pain. I lose sensation in my hands and feet and sometimes fall down the stairs. I have a hard time with day to day activities and I have to chose what I will do and what will have to wait. Sometimes I can’t straighten my back and other times I spend the whole day in bed. I don’t do the things I used to do such as exercising, Maui Tai, and I have a hard time spending time with my 4 year old. Sometimes even just grocery shopping or even taking a shower will completely drain me.

Please describe the best you can a day in the life of you?

I have to get up, get myself and my 4 year old ready for work and school. I work for 7 hours then pick up my daughter and start dinner. She gets a bath and sometimes I can shower (depending on my levels). I do lunches and get our bags packed and ready for the next day.

What was/is the most challenging thing you have faced because of your diagnosis?

The loss of even doing the simple things. Sometimes I don’t shower for days because it uses a lot of energy that I just don’t have. I have to work because I’ve been denied disability because they don’t believe it is a long term illness. I can’t keep up with my extremely active 4 year old.

Do you find that you can keep up with others?

Not at all.

What would you tell others living with your diagnosis?

I wish people would understand that even though I look healthy and smile that most days it takes sheer will power to even get out of bed just to do what I HAVE to do.

What would you like to tell others that don’t live with a similar diagnosis?

Same as above.

What have you learnt on your journey?

There is no relief or help. This is what my life is now so I learned to make the most of it and to keep fighting.

You are a Fibromyalgia warrior. Thank you for sharing your stroy with me and with the world. Hopeful for you always.

💗Anna Werrun

Leave a Reply

