A Part Of My Story Part 1 EDS

IMG_5257My name is Anna. Before my diagnosis I had never heard of Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome and wasn’t concerned about having it, until all the major problems and complications arose.

A wonderful photographer named Fred Smith agreed to help me with a photo project to help raise awareness for EDS these are the photos he took of me. You can find more about his photography here https://www.flickr.com/photos/fredsmitht/

I don’t only have EDS and I have multiple complications for EDS in addition to other diseases rare and common.

I created a support group for the Calgary Alberta area in hopes of meeting others with EDS.

I have a YouTube channel where I share my experience, and I create awareness videos for disorders like EDS.

My instagram is dedicated to raising awareness for EDS and the other disorders/diseases that I have. On my blog I share my journey but the favourite part of my blog is the interview section. I love to have others on my blog to share their journey. Everyone’s journey is different, I enjoy learning about others and giving them a platform to share their journey.

I believe that collectively we can make a difference, we can bring awareness to EDS. We can help the medical community and our communities a like see we exist. I believe in the power of unity. I believe in hope for change.

Chronic illness is a journey we shoulder together, with hope and through unity we can carry each other through. It’s important to remember negativity has its time and place. We should never let it consume us nor control us. We are not our illness, it may have shaped us into who we are now, but it is not us in entirety. Embrace who you are. We are all diamonds in a world of charcoal covered stones.

Our hearts maybe covered in scars from those who left our lives, those fair weather friends, lovers, family members, left because of them. It has nothing to do with you. You deserve love, and respect.

Most of all remember your braces do not make you ugly they empower and strengthen you. Wear them with pride. You are beautifully braced. I remain hopeful always for hope is the seed that sprouts strength.

Anyone looking to find me can do so on the following links.
YouTube https://m.youtube.com/channel/UClKvcNyS5xuAqi97pATIl0A
Facebookhttps://m.facebook.com/Annawerrun2/?tsid=0.5619874757248908&source=typeahead
Calgary Support Group https://m.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1904695566468855&tsid=0.26887862873263657&source=typeahead
Vancouver island support group https://m.facebook.com/profile.php?id=776227182552843&tsid=0.10804500989615917&source=typeahead
Find me on instagram @annaweds

Leave a Reply

